Salty Speculations

My friend’s blog post the other day reminded me of all the times I have been asked.  Are you a boy or a girl?  If I only had a nickel for  every time I was asked that question by children, I would be very very rich,  to rich to count in fact. However, below I shall touch on my favorite responses from both me and the children that have asked me.
Child: Ms. (Last Name) are you a boy or a girl?
Me: Really did you just say “Ms.” and ask me that question?

Child: Are you a girl or a boy?
Me: What do you think?
Child: Well you look like a boy, you sound like a girl, and you act like both
Me: (impressed by the child’s understanding of gender)
Child: I think you are a boy!
Me: Sure

Child: Are you a boy or a girl?
Me: Yes!

Child: Are you a girl or a boy?
Me: Does it matter?
Child: (walks away really confused)

Child 1: Are you a boy or a girl?
Me: What do you think?
Child 1: A girl.
Child 2: A boy.
Me: Exactly!

I love children. They make my day because they are so innocent and curious in their questioning and at the end of the day whether you are a boy/girl/ or something in the middle, they don’t care.

Comments on: "Are you a boy or a girl?" (1)

  1. Some other great answers I’ve heard are:

    Sometimes. (my favorite)
    A bit of both.
    Neither.

    And have you heard Andrea Gibson’s poem “Swing set”? Cause it’s great and talks about children’s perception of gender.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

